This record is only as complete as the public makes it
No one has catalogued John H. Rutherford's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

RepublicanJohn H. Rutherford
U.S. Representative · Florida
Florida's 5th district
U.S. Representative from Florida
0 tracked promises
Trust rating
Not yet rated
Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.
Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.
A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →
How they won their seat
John H. Rutherford won the 2024 U.S. House election in Florida (District 5) with 63.1% of the vote (267,471 votes).
- John H. Rutherford · Republican63.1%267,471
- Jay McGovern · Democrat36.9%156,570
- 1 Other Candidate0%23
Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.
Inferred legislative agendas
John H. Rutherford's record includes sponsorship of bills such as the 'Protect and Serve Act' and the 'PROTECT Florida Act.' His committee memberships on Appropriations include actions related to funding for military and veterans affairs. Focus areas (from the record): public safety · law enforcement · environmental protection · military and veterans affairs · infrastructure Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. There are no declared positions or tracked promises on file. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal the effectiveness of the sponsored bills; There is no information on the politician's motives or intentions; The absence of declared positions. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).
Inferred, not stated. John H. Rutherford has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.
Showing 2022. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.
Activity in office
What John H. Rutherford has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.
Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.
Bills sponsored over time
Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.
Bill success rate
Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.
Campaign finance over time
- Small-dollar (unitemized)$14K2%
- Large individual (itemized)$592K77%
- PAC / committee$166K22%
By election cycle. Source: FEC.
Committee memberships
- Member, House Committee on AppropriationsOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Appropriations — Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related AgenciesOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Appropriations — Homeland SecurityOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Appropriations — Military Construction, Veterans Affairs, and Related AgenciesOn record since Jan 2025Member
Source: Congress.gov.
Verified record
48 sponsored bills · finance on fileFacts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.
FEC 2026 cycle — raised $528,233, spent $299,106, cash on hand $0.
View the FEC filing ↗Sponsored legislation
- Sponsored HR 9503: Officer Leslie Coffelt U.S. Secret Service Police Act of 2026 ↗Jun 29, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8842: FAST Act ↗May 15, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6068: PROTECT Florida Act ↗Nov 17, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5699: Fisheries Data Modernization and Accuracy Act of 2025 ↗Oct 6, 2025
- Sponsored HR 2577: PLAN for School Safety Act of 2025 ↗Apr 1, 2025
- Sponsored HR 2094: HELPER Act of 2025 ↗Mar 14, 2025
- Sponsored HR 1773: Federal Firearms Licensee Protection Act of 2025 ↗Mar 3, 2025
- Sponsored HR 1551: Protect and Serve Act of 2025 ↗Feb 25, 2025
- Sponsored HR 470: Red Snapper Act of 2025 ↗Jan 16, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6955: Investing in Uniformed Division Leadership Act ↗Jan 11, 2024
- Sponsored HR 6613: PLAN for School Safety Act of 2023 ↗Dec 6, 2023
- Sponsored HR 6212: PROTECT Florida Act ↗Nov 3, 2023
Showing the 12 most recent of 48 sponsored measures.
Voting record
- Total votes
- 655
- Yea
- 458
- Nay
- 134
- Present
- 0
- Not voting
- 63
Full voting record
655 votes- HR4795Yea
- HR1501Yea
- HJRES1Yea
- HRES1498Yea
- HR9436Yea
- HR9436Nay
- HRES1490Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HR6500Yea
- S32Yea
- S307Not voting
- HR8884Yea
- HCONRES89Nay
- HCONRES113Yea
- HR7008Yea
- HR7008Nay
- HR8800Yea
- HR8800Nay
- HR8800Nay
Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.
Positions on record
1 position on recordThe record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.
- Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote
On record voting NO on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.
SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.View position & sources →
Disclosure
A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.
No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.
Suggest a correction to this official's info
See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.
Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.