This record is only as complete as the public makes it
No one has catalogued John James's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

RepublicanJohn James
U.S. Representative · Michigan
Michigan's 10th district
U.S. Representative from Michigan
0 tracked promises
Trust rating
Not yet rated
Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.
Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.
A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →
How they won their seat
John James won the 2024 U.S. House election in Michigan (District 10) with 51.1% of the vote (217,437 votes).
- John James · Republican51.1%217,437
- Carl J. Marlinga · Democrat45%191,363
- Andrea L. Kirby · Working Class2.6%11,162
- 1 Other Candidate1.3%5,339
Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.
Inferred legislative agendas
John James has sponsored a range of bills related to health, education, and economic issues, including the National Diabetes Project Act and the Safe Water in Schools Act of 2026. He is a member of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, which oversees health and commerce-related legislation. Additionally, he has sponsored bills related to veterans and military initiatives, as evidenced by the Reforming Education for Veterans Act and the Air National Guard Squadron Preservation Act. Focus areas (from the record): Health · Education · Veterans · Economic Development · Military Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal any stated goals or intentions behind the sponsored bills; There is no information on the effectiveness or impact of the legislation he has sponsored. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).
Inferred, not stated. John James has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.
Showing 2025. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.
Activity in office
What John James has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.
Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.
Monthly voting activity
- Yea
- Nay
- Total
Roll-call votes per month — most recent on file. Source: Voteview.
Vote attendance
Share of roll calls participated in — most recent votes on file. Source: Voteview.
Bills sponsored over time
Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.
Independence
How often they break with their party’s majority — neither good nor bad, just the record.
Most recent roll-call votes on file. Source: Voteview.
Bill success rate
Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.
Campaign finance over time
- Small-dollar (unitemized)$22K9%
- Large individual (itemized)$13K5%
- PAC / committee$225K87%
By election cycle. Source: FEC.
Committee memberships
- Member, House Committee on Energy and CommerceOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Energy and Commerce — EnergyOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Energy and Commerce — Commerce, Manufacturing, and TradeOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Energy and Commerce — HealthOn record since Jan 2025Member
Source: Congress.gov.
Verified record
61 sponsored bills · finance on fileFacts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.
FEC 2026 cycle — raised $6,954,184, spent $6,158,678, cash on hand $0.
View the FEC filing ↗Sponsored legislation
- Sponsored HRES 1347: Recognizing the roles and contributions of automotive workers in the United States, with particular recognition of their impact in Michigan, and expressing support for the designation of September 2026 as "American Automotive Worker Recognition Month". ↗Jun 8, 2026
- Sponsored HR 9149: National Diabetes Project Act ↗Jun 4, 2026
- Sponsored HRES 1321: Calling on the Government of Nigeria to ensure that all legal proceedings involving Mazi Nnamdi Kanu are conducted in full accordance with Nigeria's constitutional obligations and international human rights commitments. ↗May 22, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8614: Safe Water in Schools Act of 2026 ↗Apr 30, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8140: Money Where Our Mouths Are Act ↗Mar 27, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7904: Protecting America’s Working Dogs Act of 2026 ↗Mar 12, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6965: IMPROVE Safety for Schools Act ↗Jan 7, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6964: To amend the National Security Act of 1947 to include school security as an element of the National Security Strategy, and for other purposes. ↗Jan 7, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6932: IDEAL Act ↗Dec 26, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6396: Kid PROOF Act of 2025 ↗Dec 3, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6264: Path to Affordable Homes Act of 2025 ↗Nov 21, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5851: Keep America Flying Act of 2026 ↗Oct 28, 2025
Showing the 12 most recent of 61 sponsored measures.
Voting record
- Total votes
- 655
- Yea
- 443
- Nay
- 148
- Present
- 0
- Not voting
- 64
Full voting record
655 votes- HR4795Yea
- HR1501Yea
- HJRES1Yea
- HRES1498Yea
- HR9436Yea
- HR9436Nay
- HRES1490Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HR6500Yea
- S32Not voting
- S307Not voting
- HR8884Yea
- HCONRES89Nay
- HCONRES113Yea
- HR7008Yea
- HR7008Nay
- HR8800Yea
- HR8800Nay
- HR8800Nay
Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.
Positions on record
1 position on recordThe record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.
- Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote
On record voting AYE on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.
SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.View position & sources →
Disclosure
A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.
No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.
Suggest a correction to this official's info
See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.
Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.