Skip to main content

Politicians make promises on their stump — we watch and hold them accountable.

Help keep the record honest →Create an account

This record is only as complete as the public makes it

No one has catalogued Kweisi Mfume's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

Kweisi Mfume

DemocratKweisi Mfume

U.S. Representative · Maryland

Maryland's 7th district

DemocratFederal

U.S. Representative from Maryland

0 tracked promises

Maryland · Maryland's 7th district

Maryland's 7th district

Their congressional district

View district dashboard →

Trust rating

Not yet rated

Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.

Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.

A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →

How they won their seat

Kweisi Mfume won the 2024 U.S. House election in Maryland (District 7) with 80.3% of the vote (232,849 votes).

80.3%
Win share
232,849
Votes for winner
290,137
Total cast
  • Kweisi Mfume · Democrat80.3%
  • Scott M. Collier · Republican17.2%
  • Ronald M. Owens-Bey · Libertarian2.4%
  • 1 Other Candidate0.2%

Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.

Inferred legislative agendas

Kweisi Mfume's record includes sponsorship of bills related to African American history, such as the African American History Act of 2026 and the National Council on African American History and Culture Act. He has also sponsored legislation aimed at government operations and accountability, including the Transparency and Predictability in Small Business Opportunities Act. Focus areas (from the record): Civil Rights · Government Transparency · Historical Recognition · Small Business Support · Public Health Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. There is a lack of declared positions or tracked promises on file to compare against Mfume's legislative activities. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal Mfume's specific motives or intentions behind his legislative actions; There is no information on the effectiveness of the bills he sponsored or his overall impact in office. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).

Inferred, not stated. Kweisi Mfume has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.

Showing 2019. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.

Campaign finance over time

$0
Cash on hand · 2026
$2.7M
Raised, 20062026
RaisedSpentCash on hand
$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M2006: raised $1.4M2006: spent $1.3M20062008: raised $6942008: spent $19K20082026: raised $1.4M2026: spent $1.3M20262006: cash on hand $02008: cash on hand $02026: cash on hand $0
Where the money came from · 2026
Small-dollar (unitemized): $89K (8%)8%Large individual (itemized): $970K (86%)86%PAC / committee: $68K (6%)
  • Small-dollar (unitemized)$89K8%
  • Large individual (itemized)$970K86%
  • PAC / committee$68K6%

By election cycle. Source: FEC.

Committee memberships

Verified record

91 sponsored bills · finance on file

Facts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.

Campaign financeas of Dec 31, 2006

FEC 2026 cycle — raised $1,364,366, spent $1,345,989, cash on hand $0.

View the FEC filing ↗

Sponsored legislation

Showing the 12 most recent of 91 sponsored measures.

Voting record

Total votes
655
Yea
242
Nay
368
Present
1
Not voting
44

Full voting record

655 votes
  • S32Not voting
  • S307Not voting
120 of 655
Page 1 / 33

Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.

Positions on record

1 position on record

The record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.

  • Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote

    On record voting AYE on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.

    SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.
    View position & sources
Disclosure
No undisclosed priorities on record

Disclosure

A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.

No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.

Suggest a correction to this official's info

See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.

Sign in to suggest a correction

Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.

Office context & community edit history

StumpWatch is live, and the record is still growing. Many promises and positions aren’t tracked yet, and some features are still in beta. Add a sourced promise and help keep the record honest.

Help keep the record honest →