Skip to main content

Politicians make promises on their stump — we watch and hold them accountable.

Help keep the record honest →Create an account

This record is only as complete as the public makes it

No one has catalogued Matt Van Epps's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

Matt Van Epps

RepublicanMatt Van Epps

U.S. Representative · Tennessee

Tennessee's 7th district

RepublicanFederal

U.S. Representative from Tennessee

0 tracked promises

Tennessee · Tennessee's 7th district

Tennessee's 7th district

Their congressional district

View district dashboard →

Trust rating

Not yet rated

Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.

Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.

A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →

Inferred legislative agendas

The record indicates activity related to national security and defense, as evidenced by the sponsorship of bills such as the Critical Infrastructure Airspace Defense Act and the Major Non-NATO Ally Terror Threat Assessment Act. Additionally, committee memberships in Homeland Security and Science, Space, and Technology show involvement in security and technological advancements. Focus areas (from the record): National Security · Defense · Infrastructure · Homeland Security · Technology Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. It is not possible to assess alignment. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).

Inferred, not stated. Matt Van Epps has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.

Activity in office

What Matt Van Epps has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.

Tracked positions
0

Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.

Monthly voting activity

  • Yea
  • Nay
  • Total
013263952VotesDec '25: 31 YeaDec '25: 19 NayDec '25Jan '26: 34 YeaJan '26: 13 NayJan '26Feb '26: 23 YeaFeb '26: 7 NayFeb '26Mar '26: 25 YeaMar '26: 5 NayMar '26Apr '26: 35 YeaApr '26: 12 NayApr '26May '26: 28 YeaMay '26: 8 NayMay '26Jun '26: 29 YeaJun '26: 13 NayJun '26Jul '26: 33 YeaJul '26: 17 NayJul '26Aug '26: 2 YeaAug '26: 0 NayAug '26Sep '26: 9 YeaSep '26: 1 NaySep '26Dec '25: 50 totalJan '26: 47 totalFeb '26: 30 totalMar '26: 30 totalApr '26: 47 totalMay '26: 36 totalJun '26: 42 totalJul '26: 50 totalAug '26: 2 totalSep '26: 10 total
Measures voted on:242 passed102 failed

Roll-call votes per month — most recent on file. Source: Voteview.

Vote attendance

100%
attendance
344 of 344 roll calls0 missed
Monthly participation rate
0255075100100%Dec 25Feb 26Apr 26Jun 26Aug 26Sep 26

Share of roll calls participated in — most recent votes on file. Source: Voteview.

Bills sponsored over time

6bills sponsored
6 pending
035810Bills2026: 6 pending62026

Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.

Independence

0.58%
Votes against own party
2 of 344 recent votes

How often they break with their party’s majority — neither good nor bad, just the record.

Most recent roll-call votes on file. Source: Voteview.

Bill success rate

0%
0 of 6 sponsored bills became law
6 pending

Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.

Campaign finance over time

$0
Cash on hand · 2026
$2.3M
Raised, 20262026
RaisedSpentCash on hand
$0$625K$1.3M$1.9M$2.5M2026: raised $2.3M2026: spent $2.1M20262026: cash on hand $0
Where the money came from · 2026
Small-dollar (unitemized): $419K (19%)19%Large individual (itemized): $1.2M (55%)55%PAC / committee: $582K (26%)26%
  • Small-dollar (unitemized)$419K19%
  • Large individual (itemized)$1.2M55%
  • PAC / committee$582K26%

By election cycle. Source: FEC.

Committee memberships

Verified record

6 sponsored bills · finance on file

Facts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.

Campaign financeas of Mar 31, 2026

FEC 2026 cycle — raised $1,982,057, spent $1,846,902, cash on hand $0.

View the FEC filing ↗

Voting record

Total votes
344
Yea
249
Nay
95
Present
0
Not voting
0

Full voting record

344 votes
  • S32Yea
  • S307Yea
120 of 344
Page 1 / 18

Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.

Positions on record

No positions are on record for this official yet. A stated position is what the official says they believe on an issue — a sourced claim, separate from any assessment of what they did. Know one? Add it with a link to where it was said.

Disclosure
No undisclosed priorities on record

Disclosure

A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.

No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.

Suggest a correction to this official's info

See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.

Sign in to suggest a correction

Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.

Office context & community edit history

StumpWatch is live, and the record is still growing. Many promises and positions aren’t tracked yet, and some features are still in beta. Add a sourced promise and help keep the record honest.

Help keep the record honest →