This record is only as complete as the public makes it
No one has catalogued Richard Hudson's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

RepublicanRichard Hudson
U.S. Representative · North Carolina
North Carolina's 9th district
U.S. Representative from North Carolina
0 tracked promises
Trust rating
Not yet rated
Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.
Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.
A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →
How they won their seat
Richard Hudson won the 2024 U.S. House election in North Carolina (District 9) with 56.3% of the vote (210,042 votes).
- Richard Hudson · Republican56.3%210,042
- Nigel William Bristow · Democrat37.8%140,852
- Shelane Etchison · Unaffiliated5.9%22,183
Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.
Inferred legislative agendas
Richard Hudson's record has sponsored bills related to healthcare, emergency services, and energy regulation, as evidenced by sponsored bills such as the 'Protect Medicaid Act' and the 'When Minutes Count for Emergency Medical Patients Act'. Additionally, his involvement in the House Committee on Energy and Commerce includes involvement in energy-related legislative activities. Focus areas (from the record): Healthcare · Emergency Services · Energy Regulation · Public Safety · Legislative Oversight Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. There are no declared positions or tracked promises on file to compare against Hudson's legislative activity, which limits the ability to assess alignment. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal any specific motives or intentions behind the sponsored bills; There is no information on the effectiveness of the sponsored legislation or the impact of his committee work; The absence of declared positions limits the understanding of his priorities or commitments. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).
Inferred, not stated. Richard Hudson has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.
Showing 2021. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.
Activity in office
What Richard Hudson has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.
Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.
Bills sponsored over time
Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.
Bill success rate
Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.
Campaign finance over time
- Small-dollar (unitemized)$81K3%
- Large individual (itemized)$1.3M45%
- PAC / committee$1.5M53%
By election cycle. Source: FEC.
Committee memberships
- Member, House Committee on Energy and CommerceOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Chair, House Committee on Energy and Commerce — Communications and TechnologyOn record since Jan 2025Chair
Source: Congress.gov.
Verified record
128 sponsored bills · finance on fileFacts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.
FEC 2026 cycle — raised $2,777,387, spent $1,872,759, cash on hand $0.
View the FEC filing ↗Sponsored legislation
- Sponsored HR 7181: Replacement Parts Availability Act ↗Jan 21, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7136: Special Operator Protection Act of 2026 ↗Jan 16, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6505: Next Generation 9–1–1 Act ↗Dec 9, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5318: RAPID Act ↗Sep 11, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5269: RESULTS Act ↗Sep 10, 2025
- Sponsored HR 3668: Improving Interagency Coordination for Pipeline Reviews Act ↗Jun 2, 2025
- Sponsored HR 3443: When Minutes Count for Emergency Medical Patients Act ↗May 15, 2025
- Sponsored HR 3147: Transparency and Honesty in Energy Regulations Act ↗May 1, 2025
- Sponsored HR 2440: SIFIA Act ↗Mar 27, 2025
- Sponsored HR 2196: National Emergency Medical Services Memorial Extension Act ↗Mar 18, 2025
- Sponsored HR 1870: SPEED for BEAD Act ↗Mar 5, 2025
- Sponsored HR 1476: PLASMA Act ↗Feb 21, 2025
Showing the 12 most recent of 128 sponsored measures.
Voting record
- Total votes
- 655
- Yea
- 502
- Nay
- 145
- Present
- 0
- Not voting
- 8
Full voting record
655 votes- HR4795Yea
- HR1501Yea
- HJRES1Yea
- HRES1498Yea
- HR9436Yea
- HR9436Nay
- HRES1490Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HRES1499Yea
- HR6500Yea
- S32Yea
- S307Yea
- HR8884Yea
- HCONRES89Nay
- HCONRES113Yea
- HR7008Yea
- HR7008Nay
- HR8800Yea
- HR8800Nay
- HR8800Nay
Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.
Positions on record
1 position on recordThe record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.
- Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote
On record voting AYE on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.
SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.View position & sources →
Disclosure
A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.
No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.
Suggest a correction to this official's info
See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.
Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.