This record is only as complete as the public makes it
No one has catalogued Shontel M. Brown's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

DemocratShontel M. Brown
U.S. Representative · Ohio
Ohio's 11th district
U.S. Representative from Ohio
0 tracked promises
Trust rating
Not yet rated
Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.
Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.
A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →
How they won their seat
Shontel M. Brown won the 2024 U.S. House election in Ohio (District 11) with 78.3% of the vote (236,883 votes).
- Shontel M. Brown · Democrat78.3%236,883
- Alan Rapoport · Republican19.6%59,394
- Sean Freeman · Independent2%6,107
- 2 Other Candidates0%29
Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.
Inferred legislative agendas
The record shows activity in housing, health care, and community support, as evidenced by sponsored bills such as the Housing Supply Fund Act of 2026 and the Hunger-Free Future Act of 2025. Additionally, there are sponsored bills related to cybersecurity and diversity, reflected in the Diverse Cybersecurity Workforce Act of 2024 and various resolutions supporting Black Music Month. Focus areas (from the record): Housing · Health Care · Cybersecurity · Community Support · Diversity Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. There are no declared positions or tracked promises on file to compare against the inferred activity patterns from the sponsored bills and votes. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal the effectiveness of the sponsored bills; There is no information on the politician's engagement outside of the official record; The absence of declared positions limits understanding of the politician's priorities. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).
Inferred, not stated. Shontel M. Brown has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.
Showing 2025–2027 term. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.
Activity in office
What Shontel M. Brown has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.
Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.
Monthly voting activity
- Yea
- Nay
- Total
Roll-call votes per month — most recent on file. Source: Voteview.
Vote attendance
Share of roll calls participated in — most recent votes on file. Source: Voteview.
Bills sponsored over time
Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.
Independence
How often they break with their party’s majority — neither good nor bad, just the record.
Most recent roll-call votes on file. Source: Voteview.
Bill success rate
Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.
Campaign finance over time
- Small-dollar (unitemized)$39K3%
- Large individual (itemized)$410K35%
- PAC / committee$723K62%
By election cycle. Source: FEC.
Committee memberships
- Member, House Committee on AgricultureOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Oversight and Government ReformOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Agriculture — General Farm Commodities, Risk Management, and CreditOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on Agriculture — Nutrition and Foreign AgricultureOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Select Committee on the Strategic Competition Between the United States and the Chinese Communist PartyOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Ranking Member, House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform — Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Government InnovationOn record since Jan 2025Ranking
Source: Congress.gov.
Verified record
42 sponsored bills · finance on fileFacts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.
FEC 2026 cycle — raised $863,501, spent $692,383, cash on hand $0.
View the FEC filing ↗Sponsored legislation
- Sponsored HR 9423: Organic Imports Verification Act of 2026 ↗Jun 24, 2026
- Sponsored HRES 1368: Expressing support for the designation of June 2026 as "Black Music Month". ↗Jun 15, 2026
- Sponsored HR 9263: Housing Supply Fund Act of 2026 ↗Jun 11, 2026
- Sponsored HCONRES 104: Directing the President, pursuant to section 5(c) of the War Powers Resolution, to remove United States Armed Forces from hostilities with Iran. ↗May 20, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8676: To amend the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 to authorize the Secretary of Education to award grants to State educational agencies to carry out wellness programs for school personnel, and for other purposes. ↗May 7, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8474: Neighborhood Tree Act of 2026 ↗Apr 23, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7975: Feeding Families Not Fear Act of 2026 ↗Mar 18, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7685: Healthy Hair Act ↗Feb 25, 2026
- Sponsored HRES 1004: Honoring Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., by celebrating diversity, promoting tolerance, and condemning hate. ↗Jan 15, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6429: Expanding Cybersecurity Workforce Act of 2025 ↗Dec 4, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5457: Strengthening Agency Management and Oversight of Software Assets Act ↗Sep 18, 2025
- Sponsored HR 5255: Thriving Community Gardens Act ↗Sep 10, 2025
Showing the 12 most recent of 42 sponsored measures.
Voting record
- Total votes
- 655
- Yea
- 276
- Nay
- 378
- Present
- 1
- Not voting
- 0
Full voting record
655 votes- HR4795Nay
- HR1501Nay
- HJRES1Nay
- HRES1498Yea
- HR9436Nay
- HR9436Yea
- HRES1490Nay
- HRES1499Nay
- HRES1499Nay
- HR6500Yea
- S32Yea
- S307Yea
- HR8884Nay
- HCONRES89Yea
- HCONRES113Nay
- HR7008Nay
- HR7008Yea
- HR8800Nay
- HR8800Yea
- HR8800Nay
Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.
Positions on record
4 positions on recordThe record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.
- Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyStated position
On record asserting that the government ordinarily must obtain a judicial warrant to compel cell phone location data, and urging the DHS Inspector General to open a second investigation into ICE and other DHS components purchasing Americans' location data from commercial data brokers without one.
SourcesBicameral letter to DHS Inspector General Joseph V. Cuffari requesting a second investigation of warrantless purchases of Americans' cell phone location data by ICE and other DHS componentsView position & sources → - Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyStated position
On record objecting to ICE's acquisition of Penlink tools that collect and search cellphone location data across entire neighborhoods, and demanding that DHS identify any legal justification for mass electronic surveillance conducted without a judicial or administrative warrant.
SourcesLetter from Rep. Shontel M. Brown and 12 colleagues to DHS Secretary Kristi Noem on ICE's acquisition of Penlink neighborhood-scale cellphone location surveillanceView position & sources → - Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyStated position
On record objecting to ICE activating a contract for Paragon Solutions' Graphite phone-hacking spyware, and questioning whether ICE's use of spyware can be squared with Fourth Amendment protections against warrantless search and seizure.
SourcesLetter from Reps. Summer L. Lee, Shontel M. Brown and Yassamin Ansari to DHS Secretary Kristi Noem on ICE's use of Paragon Solutions' Graphite spywareView position & sources → - Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote
On record voting AYE on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.
SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.View position & sources →
Disclosure
A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.
No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.
Suggest a correction to this official's info
See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.
Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.