This record is only as complete as the public makes it
No one has catalogued Steve Cohen's campaign promises yet — and an empty page holds no one accountable. StumpWatch is built by volunteers, one sourced promise at a time. Be the first to add this official's promises: paste a campaign pledge or public statement with a link to where it was said, and we'll start tracking whether it's kept. Every entry is sourced, neutral, and open to correction.

DemocratSteve Cohen
U.S. Representative · Tennessee
Tennessee's 9th district
U.S. Representative from Tennessee
0 tracked promises
Trust rating
Not yet rated
Not enough rated promises yet to provide an accurate Trust Rating.
Their tracked promises haven’t been rated against the record yet.
A Trust Rating appears once their promises have been rated against what they actually did. How this is measured. Help build the record →
How they won their seat
Steve Cohen won the 2024 U.S. House election in Tennessee (District 9) with 71.3% of the vote (159,522 votes).
- Steve Cohen · Democrat71.3%159,522
- Charlotte Bergmann · Republican25.7%57,411
- Wendell Wells · Independent1.7%3,708
- 1 Other Candidate1.4%3,062
Certified results. Source: MIT Election Data + Science Lab (MEDSL) ↗. A plurality winner can hold under 50% when more than two candidates run.
Inferred legislative agendas
Steve Cohen's record includes sponsored bills such as the Medical Bankruptcy Fairness Act of 2026 and the Equal Employment for All Act of 2025. His committee memberships on the House Committee on the Judiciary and the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence reflect involvement in legal and national security matters. Focus areas (from the record): Civil Rights · Public Safety · Government Accountability · Economic Justice · National Security Alignment with declared positions: Insufficient evidence. There are no declared positions or tracked promises on file to compare against his legislative activity, making it impossible to assess alignment. What this can't tell you: The record does not reveal the effectiveness of the sponsored bills; There is no information on the politician's motives or intent behind the legislation; The absence of declared positions limits the ability to assess consistency with stated goals. Confidence: moderate (based on the volume of verified record on file).
Inferred, not stated. Steve Cohen has not necessarily stated these as goals. This is an AI-generated, nonpartisan reading of the patterns in their verified record — sponsored legislation, committee work, roll-call votes, and campaign-finance composition — and how those patterns compare to any declared positions and tracked promises. It describes what the record emphasizes, never imputes motive, and is run through an adversarial review pass that scrubs bias, loaded language, and any claim the evidence doesn’t support. It is not a quote, a claim they made, or a rating; every underlying item is sourced in the verified record below; and it never affects the Integrity Score.
Showing 2018. Every tile and chart below reflects this window; some record types (e.g. roll-call votes) only have data for recent years.
Activity in office
What Steve Cohen has actually done in office — sourced from official roll-call and government records, shown in full below. These are facts, separate from tracked promises and never folded into any score. The tracked-positions tile counts sourced stated positions — claims about what they believe, not conduct — and is likewise never scored.
Roll-call data last updated September 7, 2026 · source: Voteview.
Bills sponsored over time
Bills sponsored per year, stacked by outcome (latest action). Outcome data covers the 118th–119th Congresses; earlier years show as “awaiting status” until enriched. Source: Congress.gov.
Bill success rate
Bills SPONSORED in the 118th–119th Congresses, by their latest action. Source: Congress.gov.
Campaign finance over time
- Small-dollar (unitemized)$18K2%
- Large individual (itemized)$245K33%
- PAC / committee$469K64%
By election cycle. Source: FEC.
Committee memberships
- Member, House Committee on the JudiciaryOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Permanent Select Committee on IntelligenceOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on the Judiciary — Immigration Integrity, Security, and EnforcementOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on the Judiciary — Crime and Federal Government SurveillanceOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Committee on the Judiciary — The Constitution and Limited GovernmentOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence — National Security Agency and CyberOn record since Jan 2025Member
- Member, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence — Open Source IntelligenceOn record since Jan 2025Member
Source: Congress.gov.
Verified record
451 sponsored bills · finance on fileFacts imported directly from official government sources — shown separately from tracked promises and never folded into the Integrity Score. Each entry links to its primary source.
FEC 2026 cycle — raised $658,569, spent $395,281, cash on hand $0.
View the FEC filing ↗Sponsored legislation
- Sponsored HR 9670: Medical Bankruptcy Fairness Act of 2026 ↗Jul 14, 2026
- Sponsored HR 9401: Latonya Reeves Freedom Act of 2026 ↗Jun 23, 2026
- Sponsored HR 9186: Controlled Substances Act Clarification in Sciences Act of 2026 ↗Jun 8, 2026
- Sponsored HRES 1309: Impeaching John Glover Roberts, Jr., Chief Justice of the United States for high crimes and misdemeanors. ↗May 21, 2026
- Sponsored HR 8215: Volume II Transparency Act of 2026 ↗Apr 9, 2026
- Sponsored HRES 1065: Condemning and censuring President Donald Trump. ↗Feb 13, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7354: Stop Underrides Act 2.0 ↗Feb 4, 2026
- Sponsored HR 7310: Deadly Force Independent Review Act of 2026 ↗Feb 2, 2026
- Sponsored HR 6784: Home Lead Safety Tax Credit Act of 2025 ↗Dec 17, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6623: Community Development Block Grant Equity Act of 2025 ↗Dec 11, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6357: TVA IRP Act ↗Dec 2, 2025
- Sponsored HR 6179: Clean Cloud Act of 2025 ↗Nov 20, 2025
Showing the 12 most recent of 451 sponsored measures.
Voting record
- Total votes
- 655
- Yea
- 257
- Nay
- 361
- Present
- 2
- Not voting
- 35
Full voting record
655 votes- HR4795Nay
- HR1501Nay
- HJRES1Nay
- HRES1498Yea
- HR9436Nay
- HR9436Yea
- HRES1490Nay
- HRES1499Nay
- HRES1499Nay
- HR6500Yea
- S32Not voting
- S307Not voting
- HR8884Nay
- HCONRES89Yea
- HCONRES113Nay
- HR7008Nay
- HR7008Yea
- HR8800Nay
- HR8800Yea
- HR8800Nay
Roll-call votes, 119th Congress. Source: Voteview (voteview.com). Click any vote to verify it independently.
Positions on record
1 position on recordThe record on this issue — recorded votes this official cast, and sourced claims about what they believe. Each is labelled with which it is, because a vote is what someone did and a statement is what they said. Neither is scored, and neither affects the Integrity Score.
- Mass Surveillance, Tracking, and Flock SafetyRecorded vote
On record voting NO on Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act, an amendment to prohibit warrantless searches of United States persons' communications in the FISA Section 702 database, with exceptions for imminent threats to life or bodily harm, consent searches, and known cybersecurity threat signatures. The amendment failed on a 212 to 212 tie.
SourcesHouse Roll Call Vote 114, 118th Congress, 2nd Session: On Agreeing to the Amendment, Biggs of Arizona Amendment No. 1 to H.R. 7888, the Reforming Intelligence and Securing America Act. Failed by recorded vote, 212 ayes to 212 noes, April 12, 2024.View position & sources →
Disclosure
A separate measure from the promise scorecard above. It tracks confirmed cases where this official has acted on or championed an issue that already existed when they ran, but which they did not disclose as a priority in their campaign. Each case meets a high evidence bar — three independent sources — and the score is shown alongside the Integrity Score, never merged into it. How this is measured.
No undisclosed priorities on record. This is not a clean-audit claim — it means none have been confirmed for this official.
Suggest a correction to this official's info
See something wrong or out of date — the biography, party, jurisdiction, common name, or photo? Suggest a sourced correction. Every suggestion is reviewed before it changes the record.
Free — it takes a minute. New here? Create an account and complete the Contributor Agreement once.